Ros Jones secures second term as Mayor of Doncaster

By Sam Cooper | 05/05/2017

Ros Jones secures second term as Mayor of Doncaster
Ros Jones

LABOUR’S Ros Jones has been re-elected Mayor of Doncaster after receiveing more than half of the first preference votes.

Ms Jones secured 32,631 votes, with no second preferences required as she took 50.9% of the vote in the first round.

She has been Doncaster’s elected mayor since 2013, with seven years as local councillor for the Askern Spa ward.

Conservative candidate George Jabbour finished second, taking 13,575 votes (21.2%). 

UKIP candidate Brian Whitmore was third with 7,764 (12.1%).

Independent candidates Eddie Todd and Steve Williams received 5,344 votes (8.3%) and 1,531 votes (2.4%) respectively, with Yorkshire Party's Chris Whitwood taking 3,235 (5%).

The turnout was just 29 per cent.

The results of the Doncaster Council elections are expected this afternoon (Friday).

Four wards in the Dearne Valley Weekender area are up for grabs — Edlington & Warmsworth, Conisbrough, Mexborough and Sprotbrough — with three seats on offer in each.

The fact you are here means you are interested in what goes on in your town.

We want to continue holding local authorities to account, attending court and council meetings, as well as providing breaking news, competitions and offers – but it costs money. Online advertising does not cover costs, therefore we feel the need to ask for your help in ensuring we can provide the best possible coverage, online and in our printed products.
For as little as £1, you can support the Rotherham Advertiser – and it only takes a minute.
Click here to support local news.

Spotted something we should know about?

Call our Newsdesk on 01709 768146
Or email
Message us on Facebook