Trophy exit for Millers

ROTHERHAM United suffered their second cup exit to League Two opposition in four days as they went out of the Football League Trophy to Fleetwood Town.

A 30-yard strike from Conor McLaughlin 20 minutes from time sentenced them to a 2-1 defeat in the northern area semi-final.

It was a mistake from goalkeeper Adam Collin, letting Jeff Hughes' close-range shot squirm through his legs, which handed the home side a 19th minute lead.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Kieran Agard forced a save from Scott Davies and Craig Morgan flashed a header just over as Rotherham tried to find a way back.

The game opened up in the second half and Alex Revell  clobbered the outside of the post soon after the restart before loan man Nouha Dicko tucked home the equaliser from close range on 55 minutes.

The goal sparked Fleetwood back into life and although Collin did well to foil Antoni Sarcevic, he couldn't keep out McLauglin's measured strike.

Davies pulled off super save to deny both Lee Frecklington and James Tavernier in the dying minutes.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Fleetwood: Davies, McLaughlin, Taylor, Roberts, Pond, Evans (Cresswell 89), Hughes, Sarcevic, Schumacher, Blair (Brown 78), Tyson (Carr 76)

Millers: Collin, Bradley, Tavernier, Morgan, Arnason, Agard, Pringle, Frecklington, Vuckic (Davis 79), Revell, Dicko

Referee: Scott Duncan (Northumberland)

Attendance: 2,244