Millers are staying up!

ROTHERHAM United secured another year in the Championship after battling to a goalless draw at Wolves.

While it was an often scrappy game and the Millers were below their best attacking wise, the point was enough to put them out of reach of third-bottom MK Dons and complete a stunning escape act since Neil Warnock took over in February.

A poor quality first  half ended with chants of “boring” from the home supporters who had already endured three successive 0-0 draws at Molineux.

With Leon Best coming back to replace Danny Ward as the lone striker and Grant Ward making some good runs, Rotherham got into some promising positions but created very little while the home side threatened only sporadically. Dave Edwards screwed wide from no more than ten yards early on and Lee Camp was called upon to tip Danny Batth’s header onto the bar.

Wolves upped their game at the start of the second half. Joe Mason, twce clear on goal, was foiled by Camp both times and defender Sylvian Deslandes poked wide at the far post.

It took nearly an hour for the Milers’ first serious shot, a fierce effort from Matt Derbyshire turned away by Carl Ikeme. Derbyshire also thudded an effort into the chest of the startled stopper and Stephen Kelly cleared off the line from substitute Jed Wallace at the other end.

Camp also turned over a header from Mason but Rotherham were still decent value for their point and in doing so extended their unbeaten run to 11 matches, equalling their second best sequence in the second tier set back in 1966.

Wolves: Ikeme, Doherty, Deslandes, Baath, Iorfa, Coady, Saville, Edwards, Henry, Mason, Enobakare (Wallace 63)

Millers: Camp, Kelly, Mattock (Richardson 72), Broadfoot, Wood, Halford, Grant Ward, Smallwood, Frecklington, Derbyshire, Best (Clarke-Harris 86)

Referee: Jeremy Simpson