Rotherham United await cup opponents

ROTHERHAM United go into the hat for the League Cup first round draw today.

They are one of 13 northern seeds for the competition, now named the Carabao Cup after the new sponsors. The first round is regionalised to minimalise travelling time for fans, with rankings decided by the clubs' finishing positions in the EFL last season.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The draw will be streamed live from Thailand at 1pm UK time and we'll have the news as it arrives.

Among the Millers' potential opponents are League Two side Morecambe, who knocked them out 5-4 at the same stage last season. Near neighbours Doncaster and Chesterfield are also among the non-seeds.

North seeds

1. Barnsley; 2. Blackburn Rovers; 3. Bolton Wanderers; 4. Bradford City; 5. Burton Albion; 6. Derby County; 7. Fleetwood Town; 8. Leeds United; 9. Nottingham Forest; 10. Preston North End; 11. Rochdale; 12. Rotherham United; 13. Scunthorpe United; 14. Sheffield United; 15. Sheffield Wednesday; 16. Sunderland; 17. Wigan Athletic.

North non-seeds

18. Accrington Stanley; 19. Blackpool; 20. Bury; 21. Carlisle United; 22. Chesterfield; 23. Coventry City; 24. Crewe Alexandra; 25. Doncaster Rovers; 26. Grimsby Town; 27. Lincoln City; 28. Mansfield Town; 29. Morecambe; 30. Notts County; 31. Oldham Athletic; 32. Port Vale; 33. Shrewsbury Town; 34. Walsall.

Ties will take place immediately after the season openers, week commencing Monday, August 7.