Room for new arrivals as Rotherham United send off official squad list

The Millers are eyeing more signings.
Matt TaylorMatt Taylor
Matt Taylor

ROTHERHAM United have left two spare places on the squad list they have submitted to the EFL to make room for free-agent signings.

Clubs can name squads of up to 25 players at the end of the summer transfer window to take them through to January when recruitment begins again for another month.

The Championship Millers have opted for only 23 as they seek to add a centre-half and a midfielder who can operate on either flank to their numbers.

Left-back Tolaji Bola has been omitted, a clear sign that he isn't in manager Matt Taylor's first-team thinking.

Because the window has closed, the 24-year-old can't move to another EFL side until the New Year and will have to go on loan to a non-league side if he wants game-time.

Rotherham have been in talks this week with free-agent targets. "Discussions are still ongoing with a couple of options," said Taylor whose team have a blank weekend due to the international break.

The Millers have also named five under-21 players who are eligible to play for the senior side but don't count towards the figure of 25. They are centre-half Hamish Douglas, midfielder Curtis Durose, goalkeeper Nat Forde, winger Joel Holvey and striker Ciaran McGuckin.

Most or all of them will go out on loan, wth Durose already at Scarborough Athletic and Holvey at Gainsborough Trinity.

Lists had to be supplied to the EFL by noon yesterday.

Rotherham first-team squad: Arvin Appiah, Tyler Blackett, Cohen Bramall, Cafu, Tom Eaves, Shane Ferguson, Andre Green, Grant Hall, Jordan Hugill, Cameron Humphreys, Viktor Johansson, Georgie Kelly, Dexter Lembikisa, Jamie Lindsay, Sean Morrison, Sam Nombe, Hakeem Odoffin, Fred Onyedinma, Lee Peltier, Dillon Phillips, Ollie Rathbone, Sebastian Revan, Christ Tiehi.

Related topics: