On-the-whistle report: Rotherham United 3 Blackburn Rovers 2

ROTHERHAM United claimed their first win since New Year's Day as they stepped up their bid for Championship survival at a jubilant AESSEAL New York Stadium.
Rotherham open the scoring. Picture by Steve MettamRotherham open the scoring. Picture by Steve Mettam
Rotherham open the scoring. Picture by Steve Mettam

Only a last-minute Reading goal at Ipswich Town stopped the Millers climbing out of the bottom three as two goals from Semi Ajayi and one from Ryan Williams saw them home.

Paul Warne's men were given a standing ovation as they left the field.

Rotherham led 3-1 going into time added on, but a Charlie Mulgrew penalty made for a tense ending.

The Millers saw the game out and are now unbeaten in their last six outings.

The home side were ahead inside the opening two minutes with a goal straight from their set-piece textbook.

Will Vaulks hurled a long throw into the box and Ajayi was left alone to nod the ball home.

Vaulks shot wide four minutes later and then headed over Anthony Forde's 20th-minute free-kick in a ragged half of few chances.

Blackburn changed shape at half-time, going with three men up front, and were rewarded with an equaliser within six minutes when Amari'i Bell volleyed in at the back post.

But the Millers hit back in the 57th minute when Michael Smith headed down and substitute Williams was on to the ball like lightning to scoop it into the roof of the net from almost on the line.

Ten minutes later, the home side had a let-off when Bradley Dack got the wrong side of sub Ben Wiles only to direct his low shot wide.

However, Ajayi rose majestically in the 83rd minute to power home Vaulks' cross and Warne's men had a two-goal advantage.

New York held its breath after Mulgrew had beaten Marek Rodak from the spot in the third minute of time added on, but there was to be no more late drama and after two more minutes three priceless points were in the bag.

Rotherham (4-1-4-1): Marek Rodak; Billy Jones, Michael Ihiekwe, Clark Robertson, Joe Mattock; Semi Ajayi; Jon Taylor, Will Vaulks, Richie Towell, Anthony Forde; Michael Smith. Unused: Lewis Price, Richard Wood, Joe Newell, Jerry Yates.

Subs: Ryan Williams (for Forde, H-T), Ben Wiles (for Towell, 53), Matt Crooks (for Taylor, 79).

Blackburn (4-2-3-1): David Raya; Ryan Nyambe, Charlie Mulgrew, Jack Rodwell, Amari'i Bell; Richie Smallwood, Lewis Travis; Elliott Bennett, Bradley Dack, Adam Armstrong; Danny Graham. Unused: Jayson Leutwiler, Ben Brereton, Corry Evans, Craig Conway.

Subs: Joe Rothwell (for Smallwood, H-T), Joe Nuttall (for Armstrong, 79), Harrison Reed (for Bennett, 90+3).

Goals: Ajayi 2, 83, Wiliams 57 (Rotherham); Bell 51, Mulgrew pen 90+3 (Blackburn).

Referee: John Brooks (Leicestershire).

Attendance: 9,663 (1,400).