On-the-whistle report: Rotherham United 1 Accrington Stanley 0

Carlton Morris opens the scoring. Picture by Steve MettamCarlton Morris opens the scoring. Picture by Steve Mettam
Carlton Morris opens the scoring. Picture by Steve Mettam
TEN-MAN Rotherham United climbed into the play-off places for the first time this season as they put their home blues behind them.

The Millers have swept teams away on their League One travels this season but have struggled to match that form at AESSEAL New York Stadium.

However, they saw off a spirited Accrington Stanley side on their own patch this afternoon to move up to sixth spot.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Carlton Morris did the damage around the half-hour mark with a soaring header and the Millers saw out a second half during which they had winger Chiedozie Ogbene sent off for two yellow  cards.

Rotherham rode their luck late on as Joe Maguire and Sean McConville both sent shots just wide for Stanley.

The Millers could have been ahead within a matter of seconds but it ended up taking them 31 minutes to breach the Accrington defence.

Morris should have scored with well under a minute on the clock after Ogbene's low cross but took too long to get his shot away, allowing Dimitar Evtimov to make a flying save.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Half an hour later, Morris was much sharper, rising beautifully to meet Ben Wiles' free-kick from rhe right and direct a fine header beyond the visiting keeper's grasp.

Clark Robertson and Michael Smith weren't far away with second-half headers and a Wiles piledriver was saved before Rotherham went a man down.

Accrington came on strongly towards the end but Paul Warne's side managed to hold firm and there were relieved New York cheers at the end.

Rotherham (4-4-1-1): Daniel Iversen; Matt Olosunde, Michael Ihiekwe, Clark Robertson, Billy Jones; Chiedozie Ogbene, Dan Barlaser, Ben Wiles, Carlton Morris (Adam Thompson 88); Matt Crooks (Jamie Lindsay 76); Michael Smith (Freddie Ladapo 76). Subs not used: Lewis Price, Trevor Clarke, Jake Hastie, Kyle Vassell.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Accrington (4-4-1-1): Dimitar Evtimov; Callum Johnson, Ross Sykes, Harvey Rodgers, Joe Maguire (Wilson Carvalho 88); Jordan Clark, Seamus Conneely, Ben Barclay (Colby Bishop 76), Joe Pritchard (Sean McConville H-T); Sam Finley; Dion Charles. Subs not used: Toby Savin, Phil Edwards, Offrande Zanzala, Sadou Diallo.

Goals: Morris 31 (Rotherham).

Referee: Darren Handley (Lancashire).

Attendance: 8,430 (253).