On-the-whistle report: Rotherham United 0 Shrewsbury Town 0

Jake Hastie in action against Shrewsbury. Picture by Steve MettamJake Hastie in action against Shrewsbury. Picture by Steve Mettam
Jake Hastie in action against Shrewsbury. Picture by Steve Mettam
ROTHERHAM United were held to a frustrating 0-0 draw on a day to forget at AESSEAL New York Stadium.

League One visitors Shrewsbury Town left with the point they came for in a match marred by the visitors' time-wasting and the dire performance of referee Carl Boyeson.

After a scrappy, stop-start contest the Millers had moved up to 13th in the table, with games in hand, and are now unbeaten in their last three outings.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The home side started well and had two sights of goal in the opening four minutes.

Freddie Ladapo headed Jake Hastie's left-flank supply wide before chasing down Shrewsbury's defence and crossing for Carlton Morris to clip an effort off target.

New York was baying for a penalty when Carlton Morris went down in the 14th minute as Ollie Norburn challenged and moments later Ladapo stung Max O'Leary's hands with a fierce shot.

Morris was next to threaten, driving at the Shrews backline and firing over.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

At the other end, Daniel Iversen produced a flying stop on the half-hour mark after Ryan Giles had been allowed to jink inside from the left and run 40 yards towards goal.

The second half had even less quality than the first as Shrewsbury settled for a point, massed bodies at the back and delayed proceedings at every opportunity.

The Millers could find no way through, weak shots from Hastie and Ben Wiles their only efforts before Morris hooked wide in the 77th minute and Michael Ihiekwe's header was clawed away by O'Leary four minutes later.

Boyeson was booed off at the end.

Rotherham (4-4-2): Daniel Iversen; Billy Jones, Michael Ihiekwe, Clark Robertson, Joe Mattock; Ben Wiles, Matt Crooks, Jamie Lindsay, Jake Hastie (Shaun MacDonald 83); Freddie Ladapo (Michael Smith 67), Carlton Morris. Subs not used: Lewis Price, Jake Cooper, Richard Wood, Dan Barlaser, Julien Lamy.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Shrewsbury (5-4-1): Max O'Leary; Donald Love, Ro-Shaun Williams, Ethan Ebanks-Landell, Omar Beckles, Ryan Giles; Shaun Whalley (Brad Walker 90), Sean Goss, Ollie Norburn, Josh Laurent (Dave Edwards 86);  Callum Lang (Jason Cummings 74). Subs not used: Sam Agius, Scott Golbourne, Romain Vincelot, Daniel Udoh.

Referee: Carl Boyeson (East Yorkshire).

Attendance: 8,380 (429).