Julien Lamy and Laurence Bilboe released by Rotherham United

Julien Lamy in action against Peterborough last seasonJulien Lamy in action against Peterborough last season
Julien Lamy in action against Peterborough last season
ROTHERHAM United have released winger Julien Lamy and goalkeeper Laurence Bilboe in their first moves to shape a squad ready for the return to the Championship.

The young pair will leave the club when their contracts expire on June 30 while discussions with two other out-of-contract players, goalkeeper Lewis Price and defender Billy Jones, are continuing.

As expected, the club have activated a clause in Jerry Yates' contract to take his deal to 2021.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

That move will ensure the Millers receive a fee should he leave this summer, with at least three clubs tracking the 23-year-old forward who scored 14 goals on loan at Swindon last season.

Academy product Bilboe, now 22, has been unable to make a first-team breakthrough while Lamy joined last summer after impressing on a trial.

Laurence Bilboe.

The 20-year-old made five appearances last season before going on loan to League One AFC Wimbledon.

Price and Jones both offer experience to Paul Warne and his management team.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Price (34) arrived four years ago from Sheffield Wednesday, since when he's been a trusty understudy in goal. 

Jones signed in 2018 after four years at Sunderland.  The former West Bromwich Albion defender was restricted to 12 appearances last season due to injury, having worked his way into contention before that.

Meanwhile, loanees Daniel Iversen, Dan Barlaser, Hakeeb Adelakun and Josh Koroma have all returned to their parent clubs following the conclusions of their loan spells. 

Billy Jones.

The retained list means that the Millers have 20 professional players under contract ahead of the 2020/21 season. 

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

They are: Joe Mattock, Shaun MacDonald, Adam Thompson, Richard Wood, Kyle Vassell, Ben Wiles, Jamie Proctor, Freddie Ladapo, Clark Robertson, Jamie Lindsay, Matt Crooks, Trevor Clarke, Chiedozie Ogbene, Michael Ihiekwe, Matt Olosunde, Curtis Tilt, Michael Smith, Joshua Kayode, Jake Cooper, Jacob Gratton.