Voters go to the polls

By Michael Upton | 04/05/2017

Voters go to the polls

VOTERS go to the polls in the Dearne and Don Valleys today with seats up for grabs on Doncaster Council and the prized post of Mayor of Doncaster at stake.

Four wards in the Dearne Valley Weekender area are up for grabs, with three seats on offer in each.

Previous Mexborough UKIP candidate Brian Whitmore has thrown his hat in the ring for the Doncaster Mayor role, which will also be decided on the same day, with Steve Williams of Conisbrough representing the Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition.

Labour’s Ros Jones will be out to hold onto the Mayoral seat she won in 2013.

The nominees for the council are:
Conisbrough: Lani-Mae Ball (Labour); Nigel Ball (Labour); Rachel French (Conservative); Stevie Manion (Yorkshire Party); Ian Pearson (Labour); William Shaw (United Kingdom Independence Party).

Edlington & Warmsworth: Phil Cole (Labour); Liz Jones (Con); Robert Middleton (UKIP); Tina Reid (Labour).

Mexborough: Bev Chapman (Mexborough First); Barbara Fletcher (Con); Sean Gibbons (Mexborough First); Tracey Leyland-Jepson (Labour); Sue Phillips (Labour); Andy Pickering (Mexborough First); Rob Reid (Labour).

Sprotbrough: Fiona Cahill (Green); David Holland (Labour); Cynthia Ransome (Con); Craig Sahman (Labour); Jonathan Wood (Con).
The candidates for Mayor of Doncaster are: George Jabbour (Con); Ros Jones (Labour); Eddie Todd (Independent); Brian Whitmore (UKIP); Chris Whitwood (Yorkshire Party); Steve Williams (Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition).

There are no elections in Rotherham following last year's all-out vote.

The fact you are here means you are interested in what goes on in your town.

We want to continue holding local authorities to account, attending court and council meetings, as well as providing breaking news, competitions and offers – but it costs money. Online advertising does not cover costs, therefore we feel the need to ask for your help in ensuring we can provide the best possible coverage, online and in our printed products.
For as little as £1, you can support the Rotherham Advertiser – and it only takes a minute.
Click here to support local news.

Spotted something we should know about?

Call our Newsdesk on 01709 803562
Or email
Message us on Facebook