Lib Dems win first seat on Rotherham Borough Council for 16 years

By Sam Cooper | 03/02/2017

Lib Dems win first seat on Rotherham Borough Council for 16 years
Adam Carter

LIBERAL Democrat Adam Carter has won the party’s first seat on Rotherham Borough Council since 2001.

Dr Carter was elected in the Brinsworth and Catcliffe ward by-election with 2,000 votes — a 50 per cent swing.

He replaces disgraced former Labour councillor Andrew Roddison who resigned after being convicted of sexual assault in December.

In Dinnington, Labour’s John Vjestica gained the UKIP seat with 670 votes (15 per cent swing).

Results in full:

Brinsworth and Catcliffe

Shaba Ahmed (Labour) 519
Adam Jonathon Carter (Lib Dem) 2,000 — ELECTED
John Lester Oliver (Conservative) 91
Steven Webster (UKIP) 389
Rebecca Louise Whyman (Green) 30

Turnout 31.97 per cent


Charles David Dowsing (Green) 79
Jean Hart (Independent) 180
Lee James Hunter (UKIP) 303
Christopher Norman Middleton (Conservative) 238
Steven Scott (Independent) 81
David Smith (Independent) 232
Stephen James Thornley (Lib Dem) 75
John Vjestica (Labour) 670 — ELECTED

Turnout 19.37 per cent

The fact you are here means you are interested in what goes on in your town.

We want to continue holding local authorities to account, attending court and council meetings, as well as providing breaking news, competitions and offers – but it costs money. Online advertising does not cover costs, therefore we feel the need to ask for your help in ensuring we can provide the best possible coverage, online and in our printed products.
For as little as £1, you can support the Rotherham Advertiser – and it only takes a minute.
Click here to support local news.

Spotted something we should know about?

Call our Newsdesk on 01709 768146
Or email
Message us on Facebook