Late UKIP change as Rotherham general election candidates are decided

By Gareth Dennison | 12/05/2017 0 comments

Late UKIP change as Rotherham general election candidates are decided

UKIP GROUP leader Cllr Allen Cowles made an 11th hour decision to become the party’s general election candidate in Rotherham.

The council’s opposition leader had initially ruled himself out of the running but the branch rejected other prospective candidates.

UKIP’s planning for the June 8 polls was hit by the resignation last week of four branch officials, including chairman Caven Vines.

The party will field Lee Hunter, who stood for an RMBC by-election earlier in 2017, at Rother Valley but has no candidate in Wenworth and Dearne.

In total, 13 candidates will campaign for the three Rotherham area seats. They are: 

Rotherham: James Howard Bellis (Conservative), Mick Bower (Yorkshire Party), Adam Carter (Liberal Democrats), Sarah Champion (Labour) and Allen Cowles (UKIP).

Rother Valley: Kevin Barron (Lab), Bethan Sian Eddy (Con), Lee Hunter (UKIP), Paul Martin (Green), Katie Pruszynski (Lib Dem).

Wentworth and Dearne: John Healey (Lab), Steven Paul Jackson (Con), Janice Middleton (Lib Dem).

The Advertiser has invited candidates to submit “mini-manifestos” to sell themselves to readers. Click here to read the contributions received so far.

No messages

Please login or register to enter your message click here

The fact you are here means you are interested in what goes on in your town.

We want to continue holding local authorities to account, attending court and council meetings, as well as providing breaking news, competitions and offers – but it costs money. Online advertising does not cover costs, therefore we feel the need to ask for your help in ensuring we can provide the best possible coverage, online and in our printed products.
For as little as £1, you can support the Rotherham Advertiser – and it only takes a minute.
Click here to support local news.

Spotted something we should know about?

Call our Newsdesk on 01709 768146
Or email
Message us on Facebook