Hospital does Rotherham PROUD

By Andrew Mosley | 20/11/2014 0 comments

Hospital does Rotherham PROUD

THE dedication and work of hospital staff was celebrated at the Rotherham Hospital NHS Trust PROUD awards this week.

Fourteen awards were handed out at a special ceremony at the hospital on Wednesday after staff and the public were asked to nominate those they felt had been outstanding in their field.

Working alongside the Rotherham Advertiser, this year the Trust introduced a Public Recognition category for which it received 108 nominations.

Trust chief executive Louise Barnett said: “Altogether, we have received 269 nominations, which is absolutely fantastic and I think is the highest number we have ever had in the organisation, and they were all of a very high standard.

“It is a real testament to the contribution you have made, your hard work and your dedication.”

Trust chairman Martin Havenhand said: “You are all winners and are to be congratulated. It really is an occaison to pause and recognise some tremendous work.”

Director of human resources Lynne Waters said: “The quality of the PROUD Award submissions this year is astounding.

“It’s been humbling to read the nominations and it’s clear that our patients and members of the public truly value the services we provide. I’m looking forward to the ceremony and would like to thank all those people who took the time to nominate.”

Advertiser editor Andrew Mosley added: “To get 108 nominations for our category was fantastic. It just goes to show how highly the people of Rotherham regard the staff at the hospital and the work they do.

“Everyone who won an award should be proud of themselves.”

Mr Havenhand and Mrs Barnett also selected an individual from the shortlist to receive a special chairman’s and chief executive’s award for excellence.

The winners were:
LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD: Derek Bainbridge, Critical Care Outreach
PUBLIC RECOGNITION: Wendy Manterfield, Stroke Unit.
TEAM OF THE YEAR: Community Services Central Admin Team.
OUTSTANDING INDIVIDUALS: Estates and Facilities Department, Sarah Jackson (Community Occupational Therapy), Jayne Griffiths (Library Services), Jeanette Davies (Community Occupational Therapy), Natalie Gibbons (GU Medicine, HIV Clinical Nurse Specialist), Elizabeth Clarke (Palliative Care Team.
UNSUNG HERO: Sarah Briggs (Heart Specialist Nurse.
MOST ACCOMPLISHED LEARNER: Jane Bolton (Community Stroke Team).
TOP LEADER: Joanne Mangnall (Continence Service).
CHIEF EXECUTIVE’S AWARD:  Infection Prevention and Control Team, Maxine Dennis — director of operations.
CHAIRMAN’S AWARD: Jane Bolton, community stroke team.


No messages

Please login or register to enter your message click here

The fact you are here means you are interested in what goes on in your town.

We want to continue holding local authorities to account, attending court and council meetings, as well as providing breaking news, competitions and offers – but it costs money. Online advertising does not cover costs, therefore we feel the need to ask for your help in ensuring we can provide the best possible coverage, online and in our printed products.
For as little as £1, you can support the Rotherham Advertiser – and it only takes a minute.
Click here to support local news.

Spotted something we should know about?

Call our Newsdesk on 01709 768146
Or email
Message us on Facebook