General election 2017: Voters go to the polls

General election 2017: Voters go to the polls

By Sam Cooper | 08/06/2017

General election 2017: Voters go to the polls
Polling stations will be open until 10pm

POLLING stations have opened across the country for people to cast their vote in the general election.

Polls opened at 7am at 117 polling stations across the borough and counting will begin once voting ends at 10pm.

MPs in the Rotherham, Rother Valley and Wentworth and Dearne seats will be elected along with 647 others across the country.

Overall turnout in 2015, when the Conservatives won 331 out of 650 seats, was 66.4 per cent, up from 2010.

A handful of seats are expected to be declared by midnight, with the final results expected on Friday afternoon.

Unusually, no local elections are taking place at the same time, so results might come through earlier than in recent general elections.

The Advertiser will be at the count for the three Rotherham seats and for the first time we will be running a live blog here on our website through the night on Thursday and into Friday morning.

Click here to find out who is standing in your constituency.


Spotted something we should know about?

Call our Newsdesk on 01709 803562
Or email
Message us on Facebook