Back at the ballot box in the Dearne and the Don

Back at the ballot box in the Dearne and the Don

By Michael Upton | 27/04/2017

Back at the ballot box in the Dearne and the Don
Local council elections will be held on Thursday, May 4

ALL EYES may be trained on June 8’s General Election, but Dearne and Don voters will be back at the ballot box sooner, with council elections taking place next week.

Four wards in the Weekender area are up for grabs next Thursday, May 4, with three seats on offer in each.

The list of candidates contains a mix of newcomers and established figures.
In Mexborough, the incumbent Mexborough First councillors are standing again under the party name or description “Working for Mexborough, the forgotten town”, as former Labour councillors Sue Phillips and Tracey-Leyland battle to get back in.

Sole Tory candidate Barbara Fletcher provides the third option, with no UKIP representation.

Previous Mexborough UKIP candidate Brian Whitmore has thrown his hat in the ring for the Doncaster Mayor role, which will also be decided on the same day, with Steve Williams of Conisbrough representing the Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition.

Labour’s Ros Jones will be out to hold onto the Mayoral seat she won in 2013.

Conisbrough: Lani-Mae Ball (Labour); Nigel Ball (Labour); Rachel French (Conservative); Stevie Manion (Yorkshire Party); Ian Pearson (Labour); William Shaw (United Kingdom Independence Party).

Edlington & Warmsworth: Phil Cole (Labour); Liz Jones (Con); Robert Middleton (UKIP); Tina Reid (Labour).

Mexborough: Bev Chapman (Working for Mexborough, the forgotten town); Barbara Fletcher (Con); Sean Gibbons (Working for Mexborough); Tracey Leyland-Jepson (Labour); Sue Phillips (Labour); Andy Pickering (Working for Mexborough); Rob Reid (Labour).

Sprotbrough: Fiona Cahill (Green); David Holland (Labour); Cynthia Dansome (Con); Craig Sahman (Labour); Jonathan Wood (Con). 

The candidates for Mayor of Doncaster are: George Jabbour (Con); Ros Jones (Labour); Eddie Todd (Independent); Brian Whitmore (UKIP); Chris Whitwood (Yorkshire Party); Steve Williams (Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition).

You can find out details of candidates for all Doncaster wards at

There are no elections for Rotherham Borough Council this year following all 63 seats being contested last May.

Fill out my online form.

Spotted something we should know about?

Call our Newsdesk on 01709 803562
Or email
Message us on Facebook