ELECTION 2015: Rotherham candidates announced

AND they’re off — two days before the Grand National, the runners and riders in Rotherham’s general and council election contests have been announced.

There are Parliamentary seats up for grabs in Rotherham, Rother Valley and Wentworth, while 21 councillors will be elected to Rotherham Borough Council.

The poll takes place on May 7 and will see UKIP looking to land its first MPs in the borough and boosting its current showing of ten councillors, while Labour will attempt to keep its strangehold among both the Town Hall and Westminster representatives.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Look out for our Election Digest section in the Advertiser every Friday and let us have your views on the big vote by emailing [email protected] or tweeting @rotherhamtiser.

The general election candidates are:


Sarah Champion (Labour)

Jane Collins (UKIP)

Janice Middleton (Liberal Democrats)

Dean Walker (English Democrats)

Pat McLaughlin (Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition)

Adam Walker (BNP)

Sebastian Lowe (Conservatives)

Wentworth & Dearne

Alan England (English Democrats)

Edwin Herbert Simpson (Liberal Democrats)

John Healey (Labour)

Michael Naughton (Conservatives)

Mike Hookem (UKIP)

Rother Valley

Gareth Streeter (Conservatives)

Sharon Pilling (English Democrats)

Allen Cowles (UKIP)

Kevin Barron (Labour)

Robert Teal (Liberal Democrats)